The rhythm method

28 Apr

Unto the Freshwater breach (whoops beach) that’s where I would go on this perfect autumn day. I would not be deterred by my recent encounter with Barney Rubble there. I would be brave.

And so it came to pass that I did make landfall at Freshwater (hurrah!) after some 44 minutes feeling like a wet blanket in a top loader. My swim from South Curl Curl was more lip curl than smiling on a sundee afternoon.

Having agreed to swim with a bunch of Can Tooers in the wrong wave, we got separated as I pansied about in the break as usual. Then I spent the entire swim like a worried, disorientated sheepdog flailing in the waves against the back wash from the rocks, constantly having to over correct to the right while desperately searching for my peeps. I need not have worried – Katherine from Mac Uni pod, you were incredible – well done! Popov would have been appalled (I was fighting the water). Not once did I strike a rhythm.

Lucky then, that the Fukers struck a big chord and did it for me. Originally, the Freshwater Ukulele Recital Society, Surfing World says of “the big men of little music”: – Nothing that special comes out of Curl Curl except for a lumpy right hander next to the pool with the incoming tide. However new album “Sunny Afternoon” by ukulele band the Fukers may change all that.

They were awesome. They made my day and found me some rhythm alright. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

Check them out here.

Can’t wait to meet the Fukers next time they are out.

A box of sheer delight

A box of sheer delight

2 Responses to “The rhythm method”

  1. Liz April 28, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Love your writing my dear:) You are truly talented in the yarn-spinning department! I had to read the Barney Mullins post, don’t know how I missed that. So impressed that you keep on getting out there despite your anxiety about the break.

    • lizziecantoo April 28, 2013 at 11:00 am #

      Thank you my lovely! Tried to leave a comment on your gorgeous blog t’other day but iPad issues defeated me. It was Catkapers related. Did you know that a cat called Tuxedo Stan ran for mayor of Halifax, Canada late last year? Why not! After all, a cat called Stubbs has been mayor of the small town of Talkeetna, Alaska for 15 years! Glad that you are better and BACK! x

Leave a Reply

