Big Billy

13 Dec

Here are the results from Big, formerly Boutique, Billy (otherwise known as the Bilgola Ocean Swim – 1.5km), for my work colleagues and me last weekend:

Pos’n   O’all

H’cap   Pos’n

Race #

Surname

1st   name

From

Sex

Age

Time

Cat

Cat   Pos’n

Sex

Pos’n

Hcap   Time

H’cap   Dezzie

Hahn   Series Pts

577

589

431

Worrall Natalie Drummoyne

F

23

35:32.3

F 21-34

82

166

32:31.1

1.9227

52.01

696

681

85

Crowhurst Elizabeth Balmain

F

42

42:45.6

F 35-49

83

233

36:10.5

2.1389

46.75

697

714

449

Mitchell Stuart Newtown

M

39

42:46.0

M 35-49

210

464

41:31.6

2.4554

40.73

First – 17.07 (not sure that I could run that fast even!).  Last – 57.58.

Finishers – 725 (yes, we were erm, near the back to say the least!) and don’t be duped by Stuart – he was waiting for me and then I made him run over the line and slipped my left ankle (with the timing bracelet on) 0.4 of a second in front when he wasn’t looking.

But then again, one ocean swimming blogger said ‘Help – this was my 3rd ocean swim but I really struggled to get out past the break and subsequently I didn’t finish the swim.’  So, we must have more surf skills than I am giving us credit for – which is what I expect from Stuey cos he’s a surf life saver but this was Whipper Snapper’s first ocean swim and look how well she did – oh the elixir (or stupidity) of youth!

Conditions were choppy.  And there was a lot of seaweed.  So much so in fact that another ocean swimming blogger said ‘there was so much weed, I couldn’t believe it wasn’t the 70s’.

After my sea mineral spa experience (wading through kelp up to my armpits with swathes of it tangled round my thighs – quite exciting really – it’s been a long time since anything could get round my thighs) with several other sunburned punters in multi coloured rubber hats, we perplexed one of the punters by bending over watching our waters break in front of the sausage sizzle.  This is the name we have come up with for the (to us at least so far) inexplicable fact that water will suddenly pour out of one’s nose, half an hour to 2 hours after swimming.  Where has it been in the meantime?  Is there some sort of sinus vortex that it lives in and what prompts it then to suddenly come out (answers on a postcard…)?

There’s probably a proper name for it like amphibious nasal syndrome or something.

Leave a Reply

